The 2018 FEBS Press Award Lectures

Congratulations to Stefan Oehlers and David Stuart who now join the plenary speaker line-up as the 2018 FEBS Press Award winners!

The FEBS Journal and FEBS Letters award winners for 2018, selected from recent outstanding papers in these journals, have just been announced. Hear them speak about their work at the FEBS Congress on Sunday 8th July, 12.30-13.30, where they will be officially presented with their awards.

The FEBS Journal Richard Perham Prize 2018

The 2018 prize has been awarded to Stefan Oehlers (The University of Sydney and the Centenary Institute, Australia) for his outstanding paper:

A whole animal chemical screen approach to identify modifiers of intestinal neutrophilic inflammation
Stefan H. Oehlers, Maria Vega Flores, Christopher J. Hall, Liuyang Wang, Dennis C. Ko, Kathryn E. Crosier and Philip S. Crosier

Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) is a chronic condition in which neutrophils infiltrate the intestine, triggering inflammation that leads to loss of intestinal function. Current IBD treatment strategies are not effective for many patients, and new treatments are urgently needed. However, the complex and heterogeneous nature of IBD is difficult to recreate in vitro. To identify novel therapeutic avenues for intervention, Stefan Oehlers and colleagues performed an in vivo screen in zebrafish IBD models for small molecules that limit neutrophilic inflammation. After validation, 23 compounds with a wide range of indications were reported to decrease neutrophil mobilisation. In addition to suggesting new potential therapeutic strategies for IBD, this prizewinning work highlights the power and utility of zebrafish models for efficient in vivo screens. This work was performed while Dr Oehlers was a PhD student at The University of Auckland. .

The FEBS Letters Award 2018

The FEBS Letters Award 2018 will be presented to David Stuart (University of Oxford, UK) for his outstanding paper:

Structure of glycosylated NPC1 luminal domain C reveals insights into NPC2 and Ebola virus interactions
Yuguang Zhao, Jingshan Ren, Karl Harlos and David I. Stuart

Niemann–Pick disease type C is a fatal, neurodegenerative lipid storage disorder resulting from loss of function mutations in genes NPC1 or NPC2. Interestingly, apart from its function in cholesterol transport NPC1 has been identified as a critical host entry site for filoviruses such as Ebola and Marburg. In their paper Stuart and colleagues provide insights into both of these disease processes by determining the crystal structure of glycosylated NPC1 luminal domain C and finding all seven possible sites glycosylated. Furthermore, by mapping disease mutations to this glycosylated surface, they identify the potential binding surface for NPC2 and thus explain the development of the disease. Modelling the interaction between the NPC1 domain C and Ebola viral glycoprotein revealed four critical residues likely responsible for species-specific infection. This work provides key advances in our understanding of intracellular cholesterol trafficking as well as host–virus interaction in two fatal diseases.

For more information on these awards, please follow the links below.

FEBS has twin commitments to high-quality publications and the promotion of molecular biosciences. As a charitable academic organization,
FEBS uses income from the journals to fund its diverse activities, including support for the FEBS Congress.